Event Advisory, Emerge KY to Graduate 28

  • Jun 22, 2018
  • Emerge Kentucky

Frankfort, KY: Emerge Kentucky, the state’s premier candidate training program for Democratic women, will host a graduation ceremony for its 2018 class at the Kentucky Democratic Party Headquarters on Saturday, June 23, 2018. Secretary of State and Emerge KY Advisory Board member Alison Lundergan Grimes will be the keynote speaker. This year’s group of 28 future women political leaders is Emerge Kentucky’s largest class, with women from all parts of the Bluegrass State and spanning the spectrum of races and ethnicities, sexual orientations, socioeconomic levels, and professional experiences.

“We are so proud of this year’s class for being so determined to make a difference,” said Blair Haydon, Executive Director of Emerge KY. “With over 14 of them running for elected office this November, they add power to 51 Emerge Alumnae in total on the ballot, but all 28 women are ready and trained to affect change.”

Emerge KY has a proven track record of training Democratic women who run and win. Since the organization launched in 2009, the program has equipped over 200 women with the skills needed to bring change to their communities. In the 2016 election, 61% of Emerge KY alumnae on the ballot won and 26 are currently serving in elected office.


Emerge Kentucky 2018 Graduation Ceremony


Saturday, June 23, 2018

4:00 p.m. EST


Kentucky Democratic Party Headquarters

190 Democrat Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601


For more information, please contact Executive Director Blair Haydon.



Colleen Abate, Jefferson County

Dana Beasley-Brown, Warren County

JoAnne Wheeler Bland, Hardin County

Cassie Chambers, Jefferson County

Allee Combs Whicker, Madison County

Brittany Corde, Mason County

Velvet Dowdy, Henderson County

LaToya Drake, Barren County

Martha Emmons, McCracken County

Karen Faulkner, Jefferson County

Charlotte Goddard, Graves County

Kelsey Hayes Coots, Jefferson County

Vonnie Hays Adams, Calloway County

Sheila Hill, Boone County

Lisa Johnson, Woodford County

RaeShanda Johnson, Jefferson County

Laura Landenwich, Jefferson County

Donielle Lovell, Hardin County

Heather Moore, Boyd County

Shambra Mulder, Fayette County

Ashley May Nash, Jefferson County

Terry Owens, Hardin County

Josie Raymond, Jefferson County

Liz Sheehan, Fayette County

Jeanie Smith, Warren County

Julia Springsteen, Hardin County

Gerina Whethers, Jefferson County

Sherry Whitehouse, Bullitt County