Midterm Election Wins

Emerge Kentucky alumnae won 27 of their races across the Commonwealth.

Quick Statistics:

This Midterm Election, the number of Emerge women in the state house increased from 2 to 7

Two alumnae flipped seats from Republican to Democrat

10 of the 27 won county-wide elections

6 of the 27 are women of color

7 won city council seats


Emerge Kentucky Firsts:

Alumna Nima Kulkarni is the first Indian-American to serve in the Kentucky state legislature

Beverly Chester-Burton is the first African-American mayor of Shively

Kathryn Thomas was Emerge Ky’s first county attorney win, and the first woman to serve in that office in Barren County


State House:

Hon. Tina Bojanowski, Jefferson County, House District 32

Hon. McKenzie Cantrell, Jefferson County, House District 38

Hon. Nima Kulkarni, Jefferson County, House District 40

Hon. Patti Minter, Warren County, House District 20

Hon. Josie Raymond, Jefferson County, House District 31

Hon. Attica Scott, Jefferson County, House District 41

Hon. Maria Sorolis, Jefferson and Oldham Counties, House District 48


Hon. Anne Delahanty, Jefferson County, District Court Judge, Division 13

Hon. Tanisha Hickerson, Jefferson County, District Court Judge, Division 9

Hon. Cole Adams Maier, Clark and Madison Counties, District Court Judge, Division 2

Hon. Jessica Moore, Jefferson County, Judicial District Court Judge, Division 11


Hon. Tabatha Clemons, Grant County, County Clerk

Hon. Loretta Crady, Hardin County, Circuit Court Clerk

Hon. Debbie Donnelly, Hardin County, County Clerk

Hon. Beth Fiss, Simpson County, Circuit Court Clerk

Hon. Rachel Pence Foster, Daviess County, Property Valuation Administrator


Hon. Beverly Chester-Burton, Jefferson County, Mayor of Shively

City Council/Commission/Magistrate:

Hon. Dana Beasley Brown, Bowling Green City Commission

Hon. Chrysanthia Carr-Seals, Lexington-Fayette County Commissioner, District 3

Hon. Angela Evans, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council, District 6

Hon. Nicole George, Jefferson County, Metro Council, District 21

Hon. Rene Heinrich, Campbell County, Highland Heights City Council

Hon. Kathy Plomin, Lexington-Fayette Urban City Council, District 12

Hon. Michelle Williams, Kenton County, Vice Mayor of Covington


Hon. Kathryn Thomas, Barren County Attorney

School Board:

Hon. Colleen Abate, Anchorage Independent School Board

Hon. Kelly Whitaker Jackson, Graves County School Board